LiFePO4 vs NMC: Voltage Drop Under Load
Short answer: Voltage drop under load, also called voltage sag, is the momentary dip in voltage a battery shows when a device draws a burst of power. LiFePO4 (lithium iron phosphate) and NMC (nickel manganese cobalt) are chemistries named on listings; each has its own voltage behavior, but a title rarely states the curve. What a title does state is capacity in watt-hours, continuous output in watts, and sometimes a surge figure. This site compares stated details only, so read the chemistry and output figures on the title, then check the maker's page for what a model supports.
What Voltage Drop Under Load Means
Voltage drop under load, often called voltage sag, happens when a battery delivers a burst of power to a device that draws high wattage. The harder the battery works, the lower its voltage reading dips for a moment, and the dip is driven by the internal resistance of the cells and the wiring between the battery and the outlets. When the load eases, the voltage recovers. To understand how this fits into shopping, see the guide to picking a portable power station.
A watt measures how fast power is delivered, and a watt-hour measures how much energy a battery holds over time, as the U.S. Energy Information Administration explains in its measuring electricity pages. Voltage is the pressure behind that flow. On a power station listing, the continuous output figure in watts is the amount the station says it can hold, and the surge or peak figure is the higher amount it says it can carry briefly, which is exactly when sag matters. The article on reading a spec sheet walks through these figures.
LiFePO4 and NMC as Listing Words
LiFePO4, lithium iron phosphate, and LFP all name the same cathode chemistry on a listing, and most power station titles in the catalogue print one of them. NMC, which stands for nickel manganese cobalt, is a different cathode chemistry that appears in battery listings, sometimes under a maker's own name rather than a plain label. The title tells you which chemistry the maker states; if a title just says "lithium battery" without more, the chemistry is not stated.
Each chemistry has its own voltage behavior under load, and each behaves differently at the edges of its capacity. This site does not measure that behavior. The site compares stated details only, so the honest reading is that the chemistry word on the title is a fact about the cell, and the voltage curve is a question for the maker's battery page. For brand-specific comparisons, see the BLUETTI guide and the EcoFlow guide.
- LiFePO4 and LFP are the same chemistry word on a title.
- NMC is a different chemistry; a maker may use its own name for it.
- A title that says only "lithium battery" leaves the chemistry unstated.
- The voltage curve is not part of a title; read the maker's page.
Why Sag Matters When You Shop
Voltage sag matters most when you buy a station for high-wattage devices that draw power in short bursts. A coffee maker, a microwave, a heat gun, or a refrigerator compressor all pull more at the moment they turn on than a moment later. The listing's surge figure is the maker's stated response to that moment, and the continuous output is what the station says it can hold.
A station with a higher continuous output figure generally leaves more headroom for sag than one running near its limit, but that is a shopping rule of thumb, not a measured promise. The listing states the numbers, and the maker's page describes what a model supports. This site gives no runtime figure and no claim about what a specific wattage will run. For a campsite, the camping guide helps you match output figures to your gear; for home backup, the home backup guide covers the same reading.
What a Title Can and Cannot Tell You
A power station title states capacity in watt-hours, continuous output in watts, and usually the battery chemistry. It does not state the voltage curve, the internal resistance, or how far the voltage sags at a given load. Those are engineering details, and the maker's specifications page is the place to read them if the maker publishes them. The spec sheet guide explains which numbers to look for.
This article, like the rest of the site, compares only what the catalogue states. Nothing here is a measurement of sag. If the maker's page does not state a voltage curve, the honest answer is that the information is not available for that listing.
For a shopping question about high-wattage devices, read the stated items in the table below. If you are looking at the largest stations, the 2,000Wh guide and the 5,000Wh guide list what each tier states.
| Listing item | What it says |
|---|---|
| Watt-hours (Wh) | Energy capacity the title states |
| Watts (W) | Continuous output the station says it can hold |
| Surge or peak | Higher wattage the station says it can carry briefly |
| LiFePO4, LFP, or NMC | Chemistry the maker states |
| Boost feature name | Maker's own word for extra output; read the maker's page |
What to Read on the Listing
Build your shortlist around the stated figures, not around sag behavior the listings do not give. Start with the continuous output and the surge figure, then look at the chemistry word and the capacity. For a device with a heavy start, you want a station whose listed output figures leave room for the moment of peak draw.
Compare that reading with the brand pages. Each maker defines its own boost or power-lifting feature name, and the maker's page is the only place that definition appears. The Anker guide and the Jackery guide show how those names appear on titles, and the main buying guide ties the reading together.
What to pick for your situation
| If you | Pick | Buying guide |
|---|---|---|
| You shop for a campsite and want one high-wattage device covered | A station whose continuous output and surge figures match how you use it | Best Portable Power Station for Camping (2026): 15 Picks |
| You shop for home backup around storm season | A larger station with a high continuous output figure | Best Portable Power Station for Home Backup (2026): 14 Picks |
| You want a stated LiFePO4 battery on the title | A LiFePO4 model from the brand guides | Best BLUETTI Power Station (2026): 12 Picks Compared |
| You want the largest stated output in the catalogue | A 2,000Wh or 5,000Wh tier station | Best 2,000Wh Portable Power Stations in 2026: 11 Picks |
| You compare brands by their stated figures | The brand guides for EcoFlow, BLUETTI, Anker, and Jackery | Best EcoFlow Power Station (2026): 15 Picks Reviewed |
Questions
What is voltage drop under load?
It is the momentary dip in a battery's voltage when a device draws a burst of power. The dip comes from internal resistance in the cells and the wiring, and it eases when the load drops. A listing does not state the dip; it states continuous output and surge figures.
Does LiFePO4 sag differently from NMC?
Each chemistry has its own voltage behavior under load, but this site does not measure it. A title states the chemistry and the output figures; the voltage curve is a maker-page question if the maker publishes it.
Which figure on a title shows sag?
No title figure shows sag directly. The surge or peak figure is the maker's stated response to a heavy moment, and the continuous output is what the station says it can hold. Read both and compare them with your device's draw.
Should I avoid one chemistry because of sag?
No. The chemistry word tells you what the cell is, and the output figures tell you what the station says it can deliver. Compare the stated output figures and read the maker's page for the model you are considering. The guide on reading a spec sheet shows how to do that.
Where do I find voltage behavior?
The specification page from the maker is the place to look. Listings state capacity, output, and chemistry; they do not state internal resistance or a voltage curve, and if the maker does not publish it, the information is not available.
Why does this article give no sag figures?
The site compares stated details from listings only. Voltage sag is a measured engineering property, and the catalogue provides no measurement for it. Giving figures would be an invented claim, so the article explains the term and tells you where to read stated output instead.
Recent updates
- : First published.