BestPortablePowerStation

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Portable Power Station Under $400 (2026): 6 Picks

The best portable power station under $400 on stated details is the Anker SOLIX C300, a 288Wh station with a 300W continuous output that names LiFePO4 and includes a solar panel in its title. It leads this price window because it states more listed details than any other pick here. The guide compares 6 stations priced under $400 on the details each title states and on live prices, ordered by the number of stated details then by pool order.

6 picks from 7 portable power stations that match this guide with a price we can quote today, made by 8 makers. Every price below is live and carries the moment it was read.

The picks at a glance

Which one should you buy?

  • For a weekend campsite: The Jackery Solar Generator 300 lists a 40W solar panel and a 300W output, two stated details that matter when a campsite has no wall outlet. A panel in the title means the bundle includes one, per the listing. See pick 3
  • For a car or van trip: The EF ECOFLOW River 3 Max states 572Wh capacity and 990W output, figures to compare when choosing a station to pack into a car or van. The title also states a UPS mode. See pick 2
  • For a home office desk: A stated UPS mode is a listing detail to compare for a desk that uses electronics; the River 3 Max title prints it. The other picks here do not state UPS mode. See pick 2
  • For storm season at home: For storm season at home, a station that names LiFePO4 and states its capacity is one to read; the Jackery Explorer 500 v2 states 512Wh and 500W output. See pick 5

The 6 picks

1 Only pick naming LiFePO4, solar panel and output

Anker SOLIX C300 Portable Power Station with 60W Solar Panel

Anker SOLIX C300 Portable Power Station with 60W Solar Panel

Battery capacity
288 Wh
Battery type
LiFePO4
Solar panel included
Yes

$379.99 (as of 10/17/2026 22:29 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

The Anker SOLIX C300 ranks first because it states 4 details in its title: 288Wh capacity, 300W continuous output, LiFePO4 battery and a solar panel. It is the only pick in this price window to name all three of LiFePO4, a solar panel and a continuous output. It appears before the EF ECOFLOW River 3 Max, the other 4-detail pick, in the pool order.

Pros

  • Names LiFePO4 battery in the title
  • States 288Wh capacity and 300W continuous output
  • Solar panel included per the title
  • Only pick with all 3 details stated

Cons

  • Expandable battery not stated by the seller
  • UPS mode not stated by the seller

Good fit if

  • Buyers who want a station that states its capacity, output, battery chemistry and a solar panel in one title
  • Campers or weekend users who want a panel included in the bundle

Skip if

  • Buyers who need an expandable battery, which the title does not state
  • Buyers who need UPS mode, which the title does not state

Verdict: The Anker SOLIX C300 is the pick with the most listed details in this under $400 window.

2 The only pick stating UPS mode

EF ECOFLOW Portable Power Station River 3 Max

EF ECOFLOW Portable Power Station River 3 Max

Battery capacity
572 Wh
AC output
990 W
Battery type
LiFePO4
UPS mode
Yes

$318.99 (as of 10/17/2026 23:02 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

The EF ECOFLOW River 3 Max ranks second with 4 stated details: 572Wh capacity, 990W continuous output, LiFePO4 battery and UPS mode. It is the only pick in this list whose title states UPS mode, and it carries the largest stated continuous output among the 6 stations. It follows the Anker SOLIX C300 in the pool order among the 4-detail picks.

Pros

  • Names LiFePO4 battery in the title
  • States 572Wh capacity and 990W continuous output
  • UPS mode stated in the title
  • Largest stated continuous output in this list

Cons

  • Solar panel included not stated by the seller
  • Expandable battery not stated by the seller

Good fit if

  • Buyers who want the largest stated continuous output in this window
  • Buyers who compare a stated UPS mode for a desk setup

Skip if

  • Buyers who want a solar panel included, which the title does not state
  • Buyers who need an expandable battery, which the title does not state

Verdict: The River 3 Max is the 4-detail pick that states UPS mode and the largest continuous output here.

3 States capacity, output and a solar panel

Jackery Solar Generator 300 and 40W Solar Panel

Jackery Solar Generator 300 and 40W Solar Panel

Battery capacity
292 Wh
AC output
300 W
Solar panel included
Yes

$339.00 (as of 10/17/2026 12:31 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

The Jackery Solar Generator 300 ranks third with 3 stated details: 292Wh capacity, 300W continuous output and a 40W solar panel. It is the only Jackery pick in this list that states a solar panel in its title. It sits behind the 2 4-detail picks and leads the remaining 3-detail stations by pool order.

Pros

  • States 292Wh capacity and 300W continuous output
  • 40W solar panel stated in the title
  • Bundle listing with panel and station together

Cons

  • Battery chemistry not stated by the seller
  • Expandable battery not stated by the seller
  • UPS mode not stated by the seller

Good fit if

  • Buyers who want a station and a solar panel in one listing
  • Campers who compare a stated 40W panel at this price

Skip if

  • Buyers who want LiFePO4 chemistry, which the title does not name
  • Buyers who need UPS mode or an expandable battery, neither stated

Verdict: The Jackery Solar Generator 300 is the 3-detail pick that states a solar panel in the same title as the station.

4 Names LiFePO4, 768Wh and 800W output

EF ECOFLOW Portable Power Station RIVER 2 Pro

EF ECOFLOW Portable Power Station RIVER 2 Pro

Battery capacity
768 Wh
AC output
800 W
Battery type
LiFePO4

$368.99 (as of 10/17/2026 23:02 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

The EF ECOFLOW RIVER 2 Pro ranks fourth with 3 stated details: 768Wh capacity, 800W continuous output and LiFePO4 battery. Its 768Wh figure is the largest stated capacity among the 6 picks. It appears after the Jackery Solar Generator 300 in the pool order among the 3-detail stations.

Pros

  • Names LiFePO4 battery in the title
  • States 768Wh capacity and 800W continuous output
  • Largest stated capacity in this list

Cons

  • Solar panel included not stated by the seller
  • Expandable battery not stated by the seller
  • UPS mode not stated by the seller

Good fit if

  • Buyers who want the largest stated capacity in this price window
  • Buyers who compare LiFePO4 as a named chemistry

Skip if

  • Buyers who want a solar panel included, which the title does not state
  • Buyers who need UPS mode or an expandable battery, neither stated

Verdict: The RIVER 2 Pro is the 3-detail pick with the largest stated capacity here.

5 Names LiFePO4, 512Wh and 500W output

Jackery Explorer 500 v2 Portable Power Station

Jackery Explorer 500 v2 Portable Power Station

Battery capacity
512 Wh
AC output
500 W
Battery type
LiFePO4

$399.00 (as of 10/17/2026 12:30 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

The Jackery Explorer 500 v2 ranks fifth with 3 stated details: 512Wh capacity, 500W continuous output and LiFePO4 battery. It is the 2nd Jackery pick in the list and follows the RIVER 2 Pro in the pool order among the 3-detail stations. Its title does not state a solar panel.

Pros

  • Names LiFePO4 battery in the title
  • States 512Wh capacity and 500W continuous output
  • One of 2 Jackery picks in this list

Cons

  • Solar panel included not stated by the seller
  • Expandable battery not stated by the seller
  • UPS mode not stated by the seller

Good fit if

  • Buyers who want a Jackery station that names LiFePO4
  • Buyers who compare a 512Wh capacity and 500W output at this price

Skip if

  • Buyers who want a solar panel included, which the title does not state
  • Buyers who need UPS mode or an expandable battery, neither stated

Verdict: The Explorer 500 v2 is a 3-detail Jackery pick with LiFePO4 and a 512Wh capacity.

6 Names LiFePO4 and 499Wh, no output stated

EF ECOFLOW Portable Power Station River 2 Max 500

EF ECOFLOW Portable Power Station River 2 Max 500

Battery capacity
499 Wh
Battery type
LiFePO4

$308.99 (as of 10/17/2026 23:02 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

The EF ECOFLOW River 2 Max 500 ranks last with 2 stated details: 499Wh capacity and LiFePO4 battery. Its title does not state a continuous AC output, printing only an up to 1,000W figure that is a seller maximum. It is the pick with the fewest stated details in this list.

Pros

  • Names LiFePO4 battery in the title
  • States 499Wh capacity
  • One of 3 EF ECOFLOW picks here

Cons

  • Continuous AC output not stated by the seller
  • Solar panel included not stated by the seller
  • Expandable battery not stated by the seller

Good fit if

  • Buyers who want a LiFePO4 station with a stated 499Wh capacity
  • Buyers who will read the maker's page for the continuous output figure

Skip if

  • Buyers who need a stated continuous AC output in the listing title
  • Buyers who want a solar panel or expandable battery, neither stated

Verdict: The River 2 Max 500 is the pick with the fewest stated details here, naming LiFePO4 and a 499Wh capacity only.

Side by side

#Portable power stationBattery capacityAC outputBattery typeSolar panel includedExpandable batteryUPS mode
1Anker SOLIX C300 Portable Power Station with 60W Solar Panel288 Whnot statedLiFePO4Yesnot statednot stated
2EF ECOFLOW Portable Power Station River 3 Max572 Wh990 WLiFePO4not statednot statedYes
3Jackery Solar Generator 300 and 40W Solar Panel292 Wh300 Wnot statedYesnot statednot stated
4EF ECOFLOW Portable Power Station RIVER 2 Pro768 Wh800 WLiFePO4not statednot statednot stated
5Jackery Explorer 500 v2 Portable Power Station512 Wh500 WLiFePO4not statednot statednot stated
6EF ECOFLOW Portable Power Station River 2 Max 500499 Whnot statedLiFePO4not statednot statednot stated

How we picked

This guide covers 6 portable power stations in the under $400 price window, defined by the pool rule for that keyword. The stations are compared on the details each listing title states: capacity, continuous AC output, battery type, solar panel included, expandable battery and UPS mode. Where a title does not state a detail, it is reported as not stated by the seller. Picks are ranked by the number of stated details (most first), then by the order in the pool file. Live prices are printed on the page with their read time; no price ranking is used in the order. The catalogue holds no runtime, charge time, solar input or measured performance data, so this guide does not claim any.

How to choose

Watt-hours and watts on a title

A battery capacity in watt-hours describes stored energy, while a watt figure describes output power. The EIA explains that electricity is measured in watts and kilowatts. On a title, a station like the 768Wh RIVER 2 Pro lists its capacity, and a station like the RIVER 3 Max lists its 990W output next to its 572Wh capacity. Keep these two figures separate when comparing stations.

Continuous output and surge figures

Titles often print a surge or peak figure next to the continuous output. The Anker SOLIX C300 title says 300W with a 600W peak, and the Jackery Explorer 500 v2 title says 500W with a 1,000W peak. The continuous output is the figure used in this guide; surge and peak are separate seller figures and are not compared here.

LiFePO4 as a listing word

When a title names LiFePO4, that is the battery chemistry the listing states. 5 of the 6 picks here name LiFePO4 in their titles; the Jackery Solar Generator 300 does not. This guide reports the chemistry only as a stated word, without claims about lifespan or behavior.

Solar panels and expansion batteries

A title that says a solar panel is included is read here as a stated bundle detail. The Jackery Solar Generator 300 and the Anker SOLIX C300 both state a panel in the title. An expandable to figure is the seller's maximum capacity, never the base capacity, and an expansion battery is a separate purchase unless the title bundles it. None of the 6 titles here states an expandable battery or an expansion bundle.

UPS and pass-through as listing words

When a title states UPS mode, that is a listed feature. The EF ECOFLOW River 3 Max is the only pick here that states UPS mode, printing a <10 ms switchover figure in its title. The switchover time is quoted only as the title prints it; this guide does not promise uptime for any device.

Who connects a station to a house

Connecting a portable power station to a home's wiring is a job for a licensed electrician and the maker, not a step this guide covers. None of the 6 titles in this price window mentions home wiring or a transfer switch, so the matter does not come up in the picks below.

Questions

Does this guide cover runtime, charge time or what a station will power?

No. The catalogue holds no runtime, charge time, solar input or measured performance data, and none of the titles in the pool prints those figures. This guide compares stations only on the details each listing states: capacity, continuous output, battery type, solar panel, expandable battery and UPS mode. For runtime or charge behavior, read the maker's page and the product manual, which are where such figures belong.

What does 'up to 1,000W output' on a title mean?

'Up to' is a seller maximum, not a continuous output figure. The EF ECOFLOW River 2 Max 500 title prints 'Up to 1,000W Output', and this guide reads that as a maximum rather than a stated continuous AC output. The continuous output is what the title states directly; where it is missing, the guide reports it as not stated by the seller.

Why is one pick ranked above another in this list?

Picks are ordered by the number of details each title states: capacity, continuous AC output, battery type, solar panel included, expandable battery and UPS mode. Stations stating 4 details come before stations stating 3, and 3-detail stations come before 2-detail stations. Ties are broken by the order in which the listings appear in the pool file. The Anker SOLIX C300 leads because it states 4 details, including a solar panel.

What does the under $400 window cover in this guide?

The under $400 window in this guide includes priced listings that fall within the budget range for that keyword, as defined by the pool rule. All 6 picks are within that window. The guide does not cover stations below that range. The live price of each station is printed on the page with the time it was read, and no price ranking is used in the order of the picks.

Why does the Jackery Solar Generator 300 not name a battery chemistry?

The title states a 40W solar panel, a 292Wh capacity and a 300W output, but it does not print a chemistry such as LiFePO4. This guide reports battery type only as a stated word, so that listing is recorded as not stated by the seller. A buyer who wants a named chemistry can compare it with the 5 picks here that do state LiFePO4.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related guides