BestPortablePowerStation

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

LiFePO4 vs NMC: Depth of Discharge

Short answer: Depth of discharge (DoD) is the percentage of a battery's capacity that you use before recharging. LiFePO4 and NMC batteries handle deep discharges differently, but the exact limits are set by the maker and printed in the manual. On a listing, you will rarely see a DoD figure; instead, look for the battery chemistry and read the maker's specifications. This article explains the term and how to compare chemistries without promising specific numbers.

What depth of discharge means on a listing

Depth of discharge (DoD) is the percentage of a battery's stored energy that you use before you recharge it. If a station has a 1,000Wh battery and you draw 600Wh, the depth of discharge is 60 percent. The term appears on battery specification sheets and in owner's manuals, but rarely in a product listing title. When a listing says 'LiFePO4' or 'NMC', it is telling you the chemistry, not the DoD.

The capacity figure in a title, such as 1,000Wh or 2,000Wh, is the total energy the battery can hold. The depth of discharge tells you how much of that total you can use in one cycle. The maker's page and manual state the recommended DoD for each model. This article explains the concept in general terms; the exact figure for a specific station comes from the maker.

  • DoD is a percentage, not a watt-hour figure.
  • A 100 percent DoD would mean using the entire rated capacity before recharging.
  • Makers often recommend a lower DoD to extend battery life, but the number varies by chemistry and model.

LiFePO4 and NMC in general terms

LiFePO4 (lithium iron phosphate) and NMC (nickel manganese cobalt) are two lithium-based chemistries used in portable power stations. LiFePO4 is common in stations marketed for camping and home backup, while NMC appears in some compact and high-output models. The chemistry affects how the battery behaves, including how deep you can discharge it, but the maker's specification is the authority.

In general terms, LiFePO4 is often described as tolerating deeper discharges without as much wear, while NMC may be recommended for shallower cycles. However, this is a general statement, not a promise. The listing will state the chemistry, and the maker's page will state the recommended DoD. Never assume a number from the chemistry alone.

What a listing tells you about chemistry and DoD
Listing detailWhat it means
LiFePO4A lithium iron phosphate battery; the maker's page states the recommended DoD.
NMCA nickel manganese cobalt battery; the maker's page states the recommended DoD.
No chemistry statedThe listing does not tell you the chemistry; check the maker's page.
Capacity in WhThe total energy the battery can hold, not the usable amount.

Why depth of discharge matters when you shop

When you compare stations, the depth of discharge affects how much usable energy you get from the rated capacity. A station with a higher recommended DoD lets you use more of the battery before recharging, which can matter for a long camping trip or a storm season at home. But the DoD is not a number you can calculate from the title; it is a specification from the maker.

For shopping, the practical step is to read the chemistry in the title and then open the maker's page for the DoD. This site's guides compare stations on stated details, but they do not invent DoD figures. If a listing does not state the DoD, treat it as a missing detail and check the maker's manual.

  • Read the chemistry in the listing title.
  • Find the maker's specification page for the recommended DoD.
  • Compare stations with the same chemistry to see how DoD differs by model.
  • Remember that a higher DoD does not mean a longer runtime; it means a larger usable portion of the rated capacity.

What the maker pages say

The maker pages for EcoFlow, BLUETTI, and Anker SOLIX list battery chemistry and capacity, but they do not always print a depth of discharge figure on the main page. For example, BLUETTI's page shows 'LiFePO₄' on many models, and Anker SOLIX lists 'LiFePO4' on the S2000. The specific DoD is usually in the full specification sheet or the owner's manual.

When you read a maker page, look for the battery section. It may state the chemistry, the capacity in watt-hours, and sometimes the recommended DoD. If the number is not there, the manual is the next place to check. This article does not provide a DoD figure because the makers do not state one on the pages cited here.

How to compare stations on depth of discharge

To compare stations, start with the chemistry in the title. Then find the maker's specification for the recommended DoD. If two stations have the same chemistry, the one with a higher DoD may let you use more of the rated capacity, but the maker's number is the only reliable guide.

This site's guides, such as the best portable power station, best 1,000Wh portable power station, and best 2,000Wh portable power station, compare stations on stated details. They do not assign a DoD number because the listings do not provide one. Use the guides to build a shortlist, then confirm the DoD on the maker's page. For camping-specific needs, see the best portable power station for camping. For home backup, see the best portable power station for home backup.

  • Check the chemistry in the title.
  • Open the maker's page for the DoD specification.
  • Compare stations with the same chemistry and similar capacity.
  • If the DoD is not stated, contact the maker or read the manual.

What to pick for your situation

If youPickBuying guide
You want a station for camping and plan to use most of the capacity before rechargingA LiFePO4 station with a maker-stated high DoDBest Portable Power Station for Camping (2026): 15 Picks
You want a compact station for occasional use and can recharge oftenAn NMC station with a moderate DoDBest Portable Power Station (2026): Reviews
You are shopping for home backup and want to use the battery deeply during outagesA large LiFePO4 station with a maker-stated DoDBest Portable Power Station for Home Backup (2026): 14 Picks
You are on a budget and want the best value for the capacityA station under your budget tier with a clear chemistry labelBest Portable Power Stations Under $500: 7 Picks
You want a station with expansion options and a consistent DoD across batteriesAn expandable LiFePO4 station from a brand with clear specsBest EcoFlow Power Station (2026): 15 Picks Reviewed

Questions

What does depth of discharge mean on a power station?

Depth of discharge is the percentage of the battery's capacity that you use before recharging. For example, using 600Wh from a 1,000Wh battery is a 60 percent DoD. The maker states the recommended DoD for each model.

Is LiFePO4 better than NMC for deep discharges?

In general terms, LiFePO4 is often described as tolerating deeper discharges, but the exact DoD is set by the maker. Read the specification sheet for the specific model rather than relying on the chemistry alone.

Where can I find the depth of discharge for a specific station?

The maker's specification page or owner's manual states the recommended DoD. It is rarely in the listing title. If the number is not published, contact the maker.

Does a higher depth of discharge mean a longer runtime?

No. DoD tells you how much of the rated capacity you can use, not how long the station runs. Runtime depends on the load and the capacity in watt-hours.

Can I discharge a power station to zero?

The maker's manual states the minimum recommended state of charge. Discharging to zero may not be recommended for any chemistry. Always follow the maker's guidance.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides