BestPortablePowerStation

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Power Station for Heat Gun: Surge and Watts

Short answer: A heat gun is a high-wattage hand tool, so the station's continuous output figure on the listing is the number to compare with the wattage printed on the gun's own label. A title may list a second, higher surge figure for the brief start-up draw; the continuous figure is the one that matters for a tool that runs for minutes. A watt measures power, a watt-hour measures stored energy, and a station title lists both. This site compares stated details and gives no runtime figure; the maker's page states what a model supports.

What a heat gun asks from a power station

A heat gun is a hand-held electric tool that directs a stream of heated air at a work surface. Its jobs are familiar: shrink-fitting tubing, stripping paint, softening plastic, loosening adhesive, and drying a coating. The tool runs its heating element and a small fan at the same time, so while it is on it draws a steady stream of power.

That steady draw is why a heat gun is a high-wattage load. The exact wattage is printed on the gun itself, on its label or in the manual the maker ships with it. The station listing does not state that figure; the listing states what the station can supply. Read the gun's number and compare it with the continuous output figure on the station title.

Surge and continuous watts on a title

A station title may list two watt figures. The lower one is the continuous output, the amount the station can supply while a load runs for minutes. The higher one is the surge or peak figure, the brief, higher draw a tool makes for a fraction of a second when it starts. A heating tool shows that behavior: the heating element and fan take a burst of power at start-up before settling to a running draw.

For a heat gun, the continuous figure is the one to read, because the tool runs for minutes, not fractions of a second. Some makers name a feature, such as X-Boost or power lifting, that lets a station drive a load beyond its continuous figure for a short period. The maker's page states how a specific model handles that feature; the listing title alone does not say.

  • A continuous output figure in watts, the number to compare with the gun's label
  • A surge or peak figure, the brief start-up draw
  • A capacity figure in watt-hours, the battery size
  • A chemistry word such as LiFePO4, the battery type

Watts and watt-hours are different figures

The EIA explains that electricity is measured in units of power called watts. A watt is a very small amount of power; some devices need only a few watts to operate. On a station listing, the watt figure tells you the rate at which the station can deliver power at a given moment. The watt-hour figure tells you the energy the battery stores, independent of the rate at which it can deliver it.

The EIA also reports that the average U.S. household consumes about 10,500 kilowatt-hours of electricity per year, and a kilowatt-hour is 1,000 watt-hours. That is context, not a promise: a station's watt-hour figure is a capacity number, and it sits on the listing next to the output figure. Output and capacity answer different questions. Output decides whether a heat gun can run; capacity speaks to the size of the battery that backs it.

How to match a heat gun to a station

The steps are straightforward: read the heat gun's label for its wattage; read the station listing for the continuous output in watts; read the capacity in watt-hours to judge the station's size; and read the maker's page for the model you are considering, because the maker states what the model supports, including surge behavior and expansion options.

Capacity bands are shopping words, not runtime promises. A station in the 1,000Wh band suits occasional short jobs; a station in the 2,000Wh band and up suits sustained heat work such as stripping paint or bending plastic. The how to read a power station spec sheet article shows where each figure sits on a listing, and surge power versus constant explains the two watt figures in more detail.

If your heat-gun work is part of a larger workshop setup, the power station for DIY projects article covers the same reading steps for that context.

  • Read the wattage on the heat gun's label
  • Compare it with the continuous output on the station listing
  • Read the capacity in watt-hours for the job you do
  • Read the maker's page for surge behavior and expansion options
Two figures on a station title
FigureWhat it means
Continuous output (W)The rate the station can supply while a load runs
Capacity (Wh)The energy the battery stores
Surge or peak (W)The brief start-up draw a tool makes

What a listing cannot tell you

A listing title names the capacity in watt-hours, the continuous output in watts, the battery chemistry, and sometimes a bundle with a solar panel or an expansion battery. It does not state how long a heat gun will run on that battery. Runtime depends on the exact wattage of the particular gun and the way you use it, so this site, which compares stated details only, gives no runtime figure.

The maker's page is the place for questions about a specific model: what it supports, how its surge feature behaves, and what an expansion battery adds. An expansion battery raises the watt-hour figure; it does not raise the output figure in watts. So an extra battery does not change whether a gun runs, only how long the battery can supply it. The expansion battery options article covers that difference.

The inverter and the output figure

The AC outlets on a station are fed by an inverter, and a listing may express its output as an inverter figure. For any tool that plugs into an AC outlet, including a heat gun, the inverter's continuous output is the number that matters. The what is a 2000W inverter article explains how an inverter figure relates to the way a station runs a load.

On this site, stations are grouped by capacity bands and price tiers, and each guide compares models on stated details only. The best portable power station guide is the place to start, and the capacity band guides below match a station's size to the kind of heat-gun job you plan.

What to pick for your situation

If youPickBuying guide
You do occasional shrink-tube or stripping jobs a few times a yearA 1,000Wh-class stationBest 1,000Wh Portable Power Stations in 2026: 12 Picks
You run a heat gun for long stretches, such as bending plastic or stripping paintA 2,000Wh-class stationBest 2,000Wh Portable Power Stations in 2026: 11 Picks
Your heat work is heavy and continuous, on a work site or in a shedA 5,000Wh-class stationBest 5,000Wh Portable Power Stations in 2026: 7 Picks
You want a station whose maker states a strong surge or power-lifting featureAn EcoFlow stationBest EcoFlow Power Station (2026): 15 Picks Reviewed
You also want storm-season backup at homeA home backup stationBest Portable Power Station for Home Backup (2026): 14 Picks
You want a budget tier and mostly short heat-gun jobsThe budget tierBest Portable Power Station Under $900 (2026): 3 Picks

Questions

Why is a heat gun considered a high-wattage tool?

A heat gun drives a heating element and a fan at the same time, so while it runs it draws a steady wattage. The exact figure is printed on the gun's label. Compare it with the continuous output on the station listing; if the gun's figure is higher, the station cannot drive it.

What does a surge figure mean on a station title?

The surge figure is the brief, higher draw a tool makes at start-up, for a fraction of a second. A heat gun has that start-up surge and then a steady running draw. The continuous figure is the one to compare for a tool that runs for minutes.

What is the difference between watts and watt-hours on a listing?

The EIA explains electricity in watts, a unit of power, and energy in watt-hours. A watt is the rate at which a device draws power; a watt-hour is the energy a battery stores. A station title lists both: the output in watts and the capacity in watt-hours.

Will an extra battery let my station run a bigger heat gun?

An expansion battery raises the watt-hour figure, the stored energy; it does not raise the output figure in watts. The output figure decides whether a heat gun runs; the extra battery changes how long the battery can supply it, and the maker's page states what the model supports.

Why does this site give no runtime for a heat gun?

This site compares the stated details on listings: capacity, output, chemistry, and bundle contents. Runtime depends on the wattage of the particular gun and how you use it, so the maker's page is the place to read what a model supports.

Where do I find the wattage of my heat gun?

On the gun's label or in the manual that came with it. The station listing does not state the gun's wattage; the listing states what the station can supply.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides