BestPortablePowerStation

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

How Many Watt-Hours for Home Backup?

Short answer: There is no single watt-hour figure for home backup. The watt-hours on a listing state the station's stored energy, and the watts state its continuous output. What a model supports, how it connects to a house and whether a permit is needed are decided by the maker's page and by a licensed electrician, not by the listing alone. This site compares stated details only and gives no runtime figures, so the capacity tiers are a shopping starting point, not a promise.

Reading the two figures on a home backup listing

Electricity is measured in units of power called watts, as the U.S. Energy Information Administration explains. A watt states the rate at which a device draws power at a given moment, and the watt figure on a listing is the station's stated continuous output.

The watt-hour figure, written as Wh, states the station's stored energy. The two figures answer different questions: capacity says how much energy the station holds, and output says how much power its inverter can deliver at once. A title that names two numbers is usually showing this pair, one for capacity and one for output.

This article does not state how long a station would run any appliance, because the catalogue has no runtime or measured capacity data. The guide to reading a spec sheet explains what each listed figure means.

What "home backup" means on a listing

The words "home backup," "essential backup" and "whole home" on a title are the seller's words for the intended use, not a measured claim. Most home backup listings are the larger capacity models, often sold as bundles with a solar panel or an expansion battery, and the title may state a combined capacity for the whole bundle.

Makers use their own line names. BLUETTI sells home battery, portable power station and solar generator lines; Anker SOLIX describes whole-home backup systems and essential backup; EcoFlow sells home battery and whole-home backup products. Reading the maker's page next to a listing shows which line a model belongs to and which details the maker states.

Capacity tiers in this site's guides

The guides group stations by the capacity the listing states. The 1,000Wh guide covers the smallest home-oriented models, the 2,000Wh guide the mid tier, and the 5,000Wh guide the tier where sellers place their largest portable units and biggest bundles. The home backup guide compares those models on stated details: capacity, continuous output, battery chemistry and the solar panel or expansion battery in the listing.

A larger stated capacity generally means more stored energy for the same output class, but the output figure is a separate decision. A model can carry many watt-hours yet deliver a smaller continuous output, so both figures matter when comparing.

Who decides what a station can support

A listing cannot show how a station would behave in a particular house. The maker's page lists the supported AC output, the stated capacity and the connection options; a licensed electrician, the maker and the local permit office decide whether and how a station connects to a home's wiring.

Terms such as transfer switch and inlet box appear on maker pages and in some titles. This article explains them as terms only; the installation steps, the breaker choices and the permits are the electrician's and the maker's subject.

For a desk or a small setup, the UPS term on a listing describes a station that can take over from wall power when the grid drops. The UPS guide compares those models, and what UPS mode means explains the term.

The scale of a house's electricity use

For scale, the EIA reports that the average U.S. household consumes about 10,500 kilowatthours of electricity per year. A portable station's stated capacity is usually far below that yearly figure, which is why stations are sold as backup for chosen essentials rather than as a substitute for a household's full service.

That yearly figure is context, not a runtime promise. This site does not state how many hours a station would support any appliance; the maker's page is the place to read what a model supports.

A checklist before storm season

Renters can use a station for chosen appliances without connecting it to the house; the landlord's rules and the electrician's advice decide the rest.

  • Read the capacity, the continuous output and the battery chemistry in the listing title.
  • Check whether the listing is a bundle that includes a solar panel or an expansion battery and states a combined total.
  • Open the maker's page and read what the model lists for output, charging and supported panels.
  • Note whether the listing states a UPS or pass-through feature when a desk setup matters.
  • Ask a licensed electrician and the local permit office who would connect a station to the house.
  • Keep the manual, the receipt and the warranty text, and read the maker's storage instructions before the station sits between trips (how to store a power station).

What this site cannot tell you

The guides compare stated details only: the capacity figure, the continuous output figure, the battery chemistry, the solar panel on the listing and the expansion wording. They give no runtime, charge time, solar input, cycle count or efficiency figures, and they make no appliance promises. When a number matters to a buying decision, it has to appear on the listing or on the maker's page.

What to pick for your situation

If youPickBuying guide
You want the site's overall comparison of home backup modelsThe home backup guideBest Portable Power Station for Home Backup (2026): 14 Picks
You want the largest stated capacities and the biggest bundlesThe 5,000Wh guideBest 5,000Wh Portable Power Stations in 2026: 7 Picks
You want a mid capacity tier for a house or a cabinThe 2,000Wh guideBest 2,000Wh Portable Power Stations in 2026: 11 Picks
You want a smaller capacity for an apartment, a desk or a first stationThe 1,000Wh guideBest 1,000Wh Portable Power Stations in 2026: 12 Picks
You want a station sold with solar panels in the boxThe solar generator guideBest Solar Generators in 2026: 12 Picks
You want a station whose listing states UPS for a desk setupThe UPS guideBest Portable Power Station with UPS (2026): 14 Picks
You want a station within a set budget tierThe budget tier guideBest Portable Power Station Under $1,400 (2026)
You shop by makerThe EcoFlow guideBest EcoFlow Power Station (2026): 15 Picks Reviewed

Questions

What does Wh mean on a home backup listing?

Wh stands for watt-hour, the unit that states the station's stored energy. The U.S. Energy Information Administration explains that electricity is measured in watts, and the watt-hour figure on a listing is the amount of energy delivered or used over time. The listing states the figure; the site does not translate it into runtime.

What does the watt figure mean?

The watt figure states the station's continuous output, the rate at which the inverter can deliver power at once. Capacity in watt-hours and output in watts are separate figures; a listing may name both in the title.

Can one station power a whole house?

The words "whole home" on a title are the seller's words, not a measured claim. Whether a station can support the circuits you choose and how it would connect are decided by the maker's page and by a licensed electrician, not by the listing alone.

Do I need an electrician for home backup?

For any connection to a home's wiring, yes: a licensed electrician, the maker and the local permit office decide whether and how a station connects. A portable station can also be used without connecting it to the house, for chosen appliances plugged into its outlets.

What is a transfer switch?

A transfer switch is a term on some maker pages for a device that changes a home's circuits between utility power and a backup source. This article explains the term only; the installation decision belongs to the electrician and the maker.

Which capacity band should I choose?

The choice depends on what you want to power and how the listing is set up. The site's guides group models into the 1,000Wh, 2,000Wh and 5,000Wh tiers, and the home backup guide compares the stated details of each model; no guide promises a runtime.

Where do this site's figures come from?

From the listing titles and the maker pages, which state capacity in watt-hours, output in watts, battery chemistry and included panels. The site adds no runtime, charge time or capacity measurements of its own.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides