BestPortablePowerStation

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

How to Unbox and Set Up a Power Station

Short answer: Unboxing a portable power station takes one pass through the box and the manual: set the unit on a flat surface, check the model label against the title you bought, connect the AC charge cable, watch the display's battery figure reach full, and then follow the manual's setup order. The listing states what is in the box; the maker's manual and its online page state the first-charge and app steps for your model.

What arrives in the box

The listing states what is in the box before you buy, and the box should match it. A typical power station box holds the unit, an AC power cord that plugs into a wall outlet, and a printed manual. A bundle adds the extra item the title names, usually a solar panel or an expansion battery for a separate charging path. A car charging cable and a USB-C cable may be included; the listing and the manual list them.

Compare the listing with the box when it arrives. If a stated item is missing, contact the maker's support page rather than buying a replacement part on your own. The warranty article explains how warranty terms are read in general terms, and the maker's page describes how claims are handled.

  • Set the box on a clear surface and lift the station by its handle if it has one.
  • Keep the box and inner padding until the first charge is complete.
  • Read the printed manual before you plug anything in.

Unpacking and inspecting the unit

Unpack the station onto a flat, stable surface before pressing any button. The unit carries a label with its model name, battery capacity in watt-hours, and continuous output in watts, figure by figure. Those are the same figures the listing title names, and the spec sheet article explains how to read them.

The EIA's page on measuring electricity explains the watt, the unit behind the output figure on the label. Look at the label once and then again after the first charge; the model name on it is the name you search on the maker's page if you need instructions later.

Cables and ports at first setup

The AC charge cable is for charging from a wall outlet. The car charging cable, if included, charges from a vehicle's accessory socket, and the solar cable, if included, connects a panel. Each cable fits one input port on the unit; the manual names the port and the cable. The outputs are the AC outlets, USB-C and USB-A ports, and a 12V output if the model has one, and the output ports article explains them as listing terms.

At first setup, label the cables with their ports if that helps you. The manual lists what each port is for, and the maker's page shows the port layout for the model. Do not force a cable into a port it does not fit; the manual states the correct pairing.

The first charge

A new station usually ships with some charge in the battery. The manual describes whether the first charge must finish before you run any load. Connect the AC charge cable to a wall outlet and to the input port the manual names. The display shows the battery level in watt-hours or as a percentage; charge until the figure stops rising.

This article does not state charge time. The maker's manual and the maker's product page list the input figure and the charge time for the model. The AC charging speed article explains the term as a maker item, and the listing may state the wattage of the included AC charger. If the manual says the first charge runs in one session, leave the cable connected until the display reaches full.

First-time setup

After the first charge, follow the manual's setup order: turn the unit on with the power button, check that each outlet responds when a device is plugged in, and pair the app if the listing includes one. The app is a listing item, and the maker describes how it shows battery and output figures. Firmware updates follow the maker's procedure, which the manual and the app describe.

Setup is also when you decide where the unit will live: a campsite table, a van, a home office desk, or a room you keep stocked before storm season. That decision is a shopping one, and the camping guide and the home backup guide match a situation to a capacity range.

Reading the maker's manual

The printed manual and the maker's online page describe the same procedures. When they differ, the online version is usually the current one. The manual lists the input and output limits for the model, the expansion batteries it accepts, and the storage conditions between trips. It also states which cables are in the box and which are separate purchases. The manual's table of contents usually starts with safety notes, then the box contents, then charging, then outputs; reading that order once saves time later.

Keep the manual with the station or save a copy on your phone. Brand names read as maker names, not as feature words: EcoFlow DELTA, BLUETTI Elite and Apex, Jackery Explorer, and Anker SOLIX C and F series are all names, and the listing title places the brand before the model.

Questions for the maker

The maker's support page answers questions this article cannot: how the first charge behaves for that model, which app and firmware version it uses, how a missing part is handled, and how registration works. The listing states warranty terms; the maker's page states who handles claims.

If the box does not match the listing, or the manual's setup order is unclear, contact the maker before charging. The warranty article explains how warranty and support pages are read in general terms, and the maker's own page is the place for a model-specific answer.

What to pick for your situation

If youPickBuying guide
You want a first station for a weekend campsiteCamping station guidesBest Portable Power Station for Camping (2026): 15 Picks
You want a station to keep stocked before storm seasonHome backup guidesBest Portable Power Station for Home Backup (2026): 14 Picks
You want to compare a brand's lineup before setupThe brand's guideBest EcoFlow Power Station (2026): 15 Picks Reviewed
You want a station in the 1,000Wh groupThe 1,000Wh guideBest 1,000Wh Portable Power Stations in 2026: 12 Picks
You want the largest capacity group for a cabinThe 5,000Wh guideBest 5,000Wh Portable Power Stations in 2026: 7 Picks

Questions

Do I charge a new power station before using it?

The maker's manual says whether the first charge must finish before the station runs a load. This article does not state charge times; the listing and the maker's page give the model's details.

What should be inside the box?

The listing states what is included: the station, the AC power cord, and, for a bundle, a solar panel or an expansion battery. Compare the listing with the box and contact the maker if something is missing.

Can a new station be used right out of the box?

The manual describes the first setup order. Charging to full first is a common step, but the model's own manual is the source for its procedure.

How long does the first charge take?

This site does not state charge time. The maker's product page and the manual list the input figure and charge time for your model.

Can I charge and use the station at the same time?

Some models support pass-through or UPS mode, which the listing may state. The manual describes whether the unit can charge and run loads at once. The UPS article explains the term as a listing word.

Where does the app fit into setup?

If the listing includes an app, the maker describes how to pair it and what it displays. Firmware updates follow the maker's procedure, which the manual and the app describe.

Where do I find the manual after I lose the paper copy?

The maker's page publishes the manual and app support for each model. Search the model name from the label on the maker's site.

What do I do if the box does not match the listing?

Contact the maker's support page. The listing states the included parts, and the maker handles missing or incorrect items.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides