BestPortablePowerStation

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

What Is a TT-30 Outlet on a Power Station?

Short answer: TT-30 is the name of the RV-style 30 amp outlet used on campground pedestals and on trailer shore power cords. When a power station listing names it, the station has that outlet on its panel so you can connect a cord that ends in the matching plug. Not every station lists one, so read the outlet set on the listing and on the maker's page before you buy.

What TT-30 means on a listing

TT-30 is a NEMA designation for the RV-style 30 amp outlet found on campground pedestals and on the shore power cords of trailers and motorhomes. On a power station listing, the term tells you that the station carries this outlet type on its output panel. The 30 in the name refers to 30 amps, and the plug has a shape that differs from the common three-prong household outlet.

The letters TT are part of the NEMA naming system, and the R in TT-30R stands for receptacle, the outlet side. On a listing, the same outlet can be written as 30A RV outlet, TT-30R, or simply RV outlet. The plug side is sometimes called TT-30P, but the station's panel provides the receptacle.

  • The term can appear in the listing title, in the bullet list, or in the image set.
  • The same outlet is sometimes written as 30A RV outlet or TT-30R.
  • If a listing does not state the outlet set, read the maker's page for the model.

What the outlet is for

Campgrounds and RV parks provide pedestals that serve the shore power cord of a trailer or motorhome. That cord ends in a plug built for an RV-style outlet, and a station that lists TT-30 gives you a matching receptacle on the station's own panel.

The reader who cares is an RV or trailer camper, a van traveler, or anyone comparing a station against an existing RV cord. For a tent campsite, the power for a phone and a laptop runs through standard AC outlets and USB ports, so the RV-style outlet is not part of that shopping decision.

Reading the outlet list

The outlet set is one of the stated details on a listing. Check the bullet list, the image set, and the maker's product page before you decide. A title may name TT-30 for one model while a smaller model in the same family lists only household outlets.

Maker pages for brands such as EcoFlow, BLUETTI, and Anker SOLIX publish the output panel for each model, so read the page next to the listing to confirm which outlets the station carries. The outlet set is part of the stated details on a listing, so compare it across models. A station that lists TT-30 also usually lists the standard household AC outlets and USB ports, but read the maker's page to confirm the full panel.

See output ports explained for the full list of ports, and AC outlet types for how plug shapes read on a listing.

The 30 amp figure

The 30 in TT-30 is an amp figure, a measure of how much current the outlet is designed to carry. A watt is a measure of power, and the two figures describe different things; the station's continuous output is listed in watts, while the outlet's rating is expressed in amps. General knowledge of these units is on the EIA page for measuring electricity.

The plug shape is specific to the RV-style outlet, so a cord built for a household receptacle does not match. Read the outlet type on the listing and on the maker's page before you buy.

When you need a TT-30 outlet

You need one when the cord you plan to connect ends in the matching plug, which is usually the shore power cord of an RV or trailer. The term becomes relevant when you match a station to an RV that already has a 30 amp cord.

If you are shopping for a first station for a campsite or a home office desk, the TT-30 term is not the first detail to compare. Capacity, continuous output, and battery chemistry carry more weight for those jobs; see how to read a power station spec sheet for the order of details.

What TT-30 is not

TT-30 is a 120-volt, 30 amp RV-style outlet. It is not a 240-volt outlet, and it is not the same as the common household receptacle, so the cords are not interchangeable. A 240-volt outlet is a different standard; see 240V outlets for the difference.

The same letters appear on generator listings, but this article covers how the term reads on a power station. For any question about wiring, the maker, a licensed electrician, and the local permit office are the ones to ask.

How the buying guides read the term

The buying guides on this site compare listings on stated details only, and the outlet set is one of those details. When a guide covers large stations, a listing that names TT-30 carries that outlet next to the standard AC outlets on the panel.

If that is the outlet you need, start with the large station guide and the camping station guide. For a trailer or van trip, the mid-size station guide compares models that fit the same job.

What to pick for your situation

If youPickBuying guide
You camp in an RV or trailer with a 30 amp shore power cordA station whose listed outlet set includes TT-30Best Portable Power Station for Camping (2026): 15 Picks
You want a large station for a trailer or a heavy outlet setA 5,000Wh-class station listingBest 5,000Wh Portable Power Stations in 2026: 7 Picks
You mostly plug in household appliances and USB gearA station with standard AC outlets and USB portsBest Portable Power Station (2026): Reviews
You want a mid-size station for a van or a long tripA 2,000Wh-class stationBest 2,000Wh Portable Power Stations in 2026: 11 Picks
You want a station for a home office desk with UPS on the spec sheetA station with UPS listedBest Portable Power Station with UPS (2026): 14 Picks

Questions

Does every power station have a TT-30 outlet?

No. The RV-style outlet appears on some large listings, while smaller stations usually list household AC outlets and USB ports. Read the outlet set on the listing and on the maker's page.

Is a TT-30 outlet the same as a household outlet?

No. The plug has a different shape and a different amp figure, so the cords are not interchangeable. See AC outlet types for how plug shapes read on a listing.

Can I plug an RV into any power station?

Only if the station lists the outlet type that matches the RV's cord. The maker's spec page states the output panel for a model.

Do I need a TT-30 outlet for a tent campsite?

Usually not. Tent campsite gear runs through standard AC outlets and USB ports. The term matters when you match a station to an RV cord.

Is TT-30 a 240-volt outlet?

No. It is a 120-volt, 30 amp RV-style outlet. A 240-volt outlet is a different standard; see 240V outlets for the difference.

What does the R in TT-30R stand for?

The R stands for receptacle, the outlet side of the connection. The plug side is often called TT-30P, though listings usually name the outlet type that the station provides.

Can I plug a TT-30 outlet into a 14-50 cord?

No, the plug shapes differ and the amp figures are not the same. Read the outlet type on the listing and match the cord end to the station's outlet. For wiring decisions, ask the maker or a licensed electrician.

Where can I confirm the outlet set before buying?

Read the listing's bullet list and image set, then the maker's product page for the model. If the listing does not state an outlet, ask the maker.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides