BestPortablePowerStation

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Power Station for Ice Maker: Sizing and Surge

Short answer: To choose a power station for an ice maker, focus on the appliance's continuous wattage and startup surge. The station's continuous output must cover the ice maker's running watts, while its surge capability handles the brief spike when the compressor starts. Capacity in watt-hours determines how long it can run, but runtime depends on the ice maker's actual consumption, which the maker's page lists. This article explains these terms and guides you to the right station size.

What an ice maker needs from a power station

A portable ice maker is a small appliance that freezes water into ice. Like a refrigerator, it has a compressor that cycles on and off. When the compressor starts, it draws a brief surge of power, then settles to a lower continuous draw. The power station must handle both: the continuous output must cover the running watts, and the surge capability must cover the startup spike.

On a power station listing, you will see two output figures: continuous output and surge (sometimes called peak). Continuous output is the steady power the station can deliver. Surge is the short burst it can handle for a few seconds. The ice maker's own listing or manual states its running watts and startup watts. Read those figures, then compare them to the station's output.

The EIA explains that electricity is measured in watts, a unit of power. One watt is a very small amount of power, and some devices need only a few watts to operate. A watt-hour (Wh) is a unit of energy, representing one watt used for one hour. A station's capacity in watt-hours tells you how much energy it stores, not how fast it can deliver it.

  • Continuous output: the steady watts the station delivers.
  • Surge: the brief higher watts for starting a compressor.
  • Capacity (Wh): the total energy stored, which affects runtime.

Reading the ice maker's specs from its listing

The ice maker's listing or manual should state its running watts and startup surge. Running watts are the power it draws while making ice. Startup surge is the higher power needed for a few seconds when the compressor kicks in. If the listing does not state these figures, check the maker's website or contact them.

Some ice makers list their power in amps at 120V. To convert amps to watts, multiply by 120. For example, 2 amps equals 240 watts. But this is a general calculation; the actual surge may be higher. Always use the figures from the maker's page.

Once you have the ice maker's running watts and surge, compare them to the power station's continuous output and surge. The station's continuous output should be at least the ice maker's running watts, and its surge should be at least the ice maker's startup surge.

Surge vs. continuous output on a station listing

The surge figure on a power station listing is the maximum power it can deliver for a short time, usually a few seconds. This matters for ice makers because the compressor's startup draw can be higher than its running draw. If the station's continuous output is below the ice maker's startup surge, the station may shut down or fail to start the appliance.

When comparing stations, look for a continuous output that comfortably exceeds the ice maker's running watts, and a surge rating that covers the startup spike. The maker's page for the ice maker lists these figures. If the listing does not state them, contact the maker or check the appliance's manual.

For a deeper explanation of surge versus constant power, see the article on surge power vs constant.

Capacity and runtime estimates

Runtime is how long a station can power the ice maker before needing a recharge. It depends on the station's capacity in watt-hours and the ice maker's actual power consumption. The ice maker does not run continuously; the compressor cycles, so the average draw is lower than the running watts. The maker's page for the ice maker may list an average consumption, but this site does not provide runtime figures.

To estimate runtime, you would divide the station's capacity by the ice maker's average draw. However, this site does not give runtime numbers because it lacks measured data. Instead, read the station's capacity and the ice maker's consumption from their listings, and use the maker's tools or calculators if available. The Anker SOLIX page, for example, offers a backup time calculator for its stations, but that is specific to its models.

For more on how to read a power station spec sheet, see how to read a power station spec sheet.

Sizing for your situation

For a campsite or tailgate, a small station with enough surge for the ice maker may suffice. For a cabin or home backup, a larger station with more capacity will run the ice maker longer and also power other devices. The station's weight and portability matter if you carry it to a picnic or park.

Consider the ice maker's wattage first. If it runs at 150W continuous with a 300W surge, a station with 300W continuous output and 600W surge would work. The capacity then determines runtime. A 1,000Wh station would run the ice maker longer than a 500Wh station, but the exact hours depend on the ice maker's draw.

If you plan to also power other devices like a phone or laptop, see how to choose power station for phone and laptop. For camping trips, the camping guide offers picks suited for portable use.

What to pick for your situation

Use the table below to match your ice maker use case to a station size. The guides linked provide specific picks compared on stated details, including output and capacity.

For a small ice maker at a campsite, a station in the compact tier may be enough. For a larger unit or longer sessions, consider the 1,000Wh or 2,000Wh guides. For home backup during storm season, the home backup guide covers larger stations.

Station size by ice maker use
Use caseStation sizeGuide
Campsite, tailgate, picnic, or park dayCompact or mid tierbest-portable-power-station-for-camping
Cabin or shed1,000Whbest-1000wh-portable-power-station
Home backup2,000Wh or morebest-portable-power-station-for-home-backup

What to pick for your situation

If youPickBuying guide
You want a small station for a campsite ice makerA station in the compact or mid tier with enough surgeBest Portable Power Station for Camping (2026): 15 Picks
You need a station for a cabin or shedA 1,000Wh station with high continuous outputBest 1,000Wh Portable Power Stations in 2026: 12 Picks
You want to run an ice maker during storm season at homeA 2,000Wh or larger station for longer runtimeBest Portable Power Station for Home Backup (2026): 14 Picks
You prefer a station with solar panel supportA solar generator bundleBest Solar Generators in 2026: 12 Picks

Questions

What is the startup surge for an ice maker?

The startup surge is the brief higher power draw when the compressor starts. It is listed on the ice maker's spec sheet or manual. The power station's surge rating must cover this figure.

How do I calculate runtime for an ice maker?

Divide the station's capacity in watt-hours by the ice maker's average power draw. The average draw is lower than the running watts because the compressor cycles. This site does not provide runtime figures; read the maker's data.

Can a small power station run an ice maker?

It depends on the ice maker's watts and the station's output. A station with continuous output above the ice maker's running watts and surge above the startup spike can run it, but runtime will be limited by capacity.

What does continuous output mean on a listing?

Continuous output is the steady watts the station can deliver over time. It must be at least the ice maker's running watts. The surge rating handles the startup spike.

Where can I find the ice maker's power specs?

Check the ice maker's product listing, manual, or the maker's website. Look for running watts and startup surge. If only amps are given, multiply by 120V to get watts.

Should I buy a station with UPS for an ice maker?

UPS mode is useful if you want the station to automatically switch to battery during a power outage. It is not required for normal ice maker use. See what is UPS mode for details.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides